#1 Habit To Help Raise Capital

Hey all, welcome back to Persuade and Raise! Today I'm going to share with you the #1 habit to help you raise capital.

This shift to BeeHiiv should be complete by Sunday! I truly appreciate all of you for helping me out with this change.

Here is my #1 habit to raise venture capital

When I was a founder, each time I would get an introduction to a VC, I would put their name and email into a Google Sheets after an initial email, zoom or in-person conversation.

I would then use Yet Another Mail Merge (A free Google Sheets Add-On) to automatically send them all an update on my company at the end of each month.

Why does this work?
Because you get investors invested emotionally in your story. They get to see your growth, dedication and performance. Even if you don’t plan to raise for 6-18 months, when you do go to raise, they will have months (maybe over a year) of data to show the type of person you are and the path your business has taken.

Another Bonus: It gets you used to doing updates which helps when you raise (as investors will ask for this), and it gives you and your team a chance, once a month, to get out of the day-to-day and look at the month-to-month and year-to-year. Taking half a day to write those reports with my management team was always something I looked forward to and was always a rewarding experience.

Yesterday I shared the poll below. Right now, about 5% of you have voted, and it’s overwhelmingly in favour of moving to 3x per week. I would love to hear from the other 95% of you before making such a drastic change!

If you guys want more, I’m happy to deliver it.

How Often Should I Send Persuade & Raise?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Please, I know I’ve been asking a lot this week, but if you can spare two seconds:

To help speed up our shift from Sendy to Beehiiv. If you spare 2 seconds just to click reply and say “Hi,” it would be greatly appreciated. Replies are vital to letting servers know you are happy to receive these emails.