3 MORE Red Flags in Pitch Decks

Hey Persuaders!

Want to pitch your startup to 2000+ VCs? For the next couple of weeks, applications for Dealflow Express are open. The application takes just 30 seconds to complete. It’s highly competitive but 100%, and if selected, you’ll get before investors from YC, Sequoia, a16z, Techstars and more. Apply here.

3 MORE Red Flags in Pitch Decks
Read time 1.6 minutes.

Many of you liked the last issue, so at the last minute, I’ve rewritten today’s issue to share MORE red flags.

  1. No clear Founder/Market Fit. You need to present me with some reason to believe that you are the right founder to work in this industry. This can be your past experience, personal pains, unique insights, or anything else to convince me that you are the right person to run this company.

Automate compliance for SOC 2, ISO 27001, and more with Vanta — get $1,000 off. Compliance doesn’t have to be complicated. Vanta automates the pricey, time-consuming process of prepping for SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, and more. Save up to 400 hours and 85% of costs, while winning more deals, enabling growth, and building trust.

Claim a $1000 discount when you book a demo here.

  1. More than 1 slide completely dedicated to the Founder/Founder’s Story. If you are a solo founder, then the max here can be 2 slides (story + team). When I see multiple slides dedicated to telling me about the founder/CEO, I get very concerned that your focus is not on the company but on your ego. When those interests are aligned, we may do well, but at other times, we might be in conflict. I won’t invest just to fight with you.

  2. More than 20 slides. In my personal VC network, 94% (16/17) who replied to my last-minute message said they wouldn’t even read a deck over 20 slides. I’m in a similar boat. I often skim through these, and unless something captures my attention after 30 seconds, it’s gone. Keep the deck to 12 slides. 15 MAX.

Do you make any of these mistakes?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Do you want a chance to be featured across my newsletter network, reaching over 5,000 investors and 90,000 subscribers for free?

Tweet @LawyerLiam with a review of this newsletter or, better yet, share how you are implementing what I share to benefit your business!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. Are you ready to take the next step in raising venture capital for your company? If so, you can book a 1:1 strategy call with me to help get you going in the right direction!

PPS If you are not already, follow me on Twitter, where I share tips and tricks for fundraising daily.

Dealflow ExpressDaily Dealflow for Venture Capitalists