♞ Alter Egos

Hey Persuaders!

Sponsored by

Alter Egos

Recently, I’ve been learning more about the Alter Ego Effect. If you are interested, you can get the book “The Alter Ego Effect” by Todd Herman.

In short, the book and research discuss how celebrities like Kobe Bryan and Beyonce use Alter Egos to get themselves into a specific mindset that maximizes their performance.

For Kobe, being the Black Mamba meant getting into a headspace where he would do anything to win. This was different from Kobe, the person who loved his family and was a caring, nice guy. By adopting this alter ego, he was able to let go of parts of his personality that wouldn’t help him on the court and adopt new traits that would.

Why am I talking about this?

Many of you message me talking about your fears around pitching or concerns that you aren’t the right person to pitch your company. I want to propose a solution and adopt an alter ego when pitching.

Raise Venture Capital in 2024

Get the course that has helped companies raise millions!

The information in this course is being used by companies pitching a16z, Sequoia, YC and many more top VCs!

Don’t fall behind in the fight for venture funding!

For those of you who have met me, you know that I am relatively introverted and quiet but still confident in myself, my knowledge and my abilities.

When I’m consulting or talking to people, I tend to like to sit back and absorb as much information as possible, then provide direct, honest feedback. This is my natural personality.

When I pitch, however, I am a completely different person. I tend to be loud and engaging, I personify the actions and lessons that I teach. I exude passion in a way that is magnetic for investors. Without knowing it, I have always adopted a persona when dealing with investors.

I highly recommend for those of you who struggle to pitch, that you try and determine how you would like to pitch in a perfect world and build an alter ego that allows you to do that. In that room you don’t need to be yourself, you don’t need to be scared, you are the CEO of a company, and you are smart, confident and ready to conquer the world adopt this alter ego just for that one hour, remove yourself and your emotions from the situation and you will be able to deliver the pitch you’ve always wanted.

Do you use an alter ego?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

With Bay Area Times, you will get graphics like these, so you quickly understand the news without having to read through long and boring paragraphs.

Visual-based newsletter on business and tech

We explain the latest business, finance, and tech news with visuals and data.📊

All in one free newsletter that takes < 5 minutes to read. 🗞

Save time and become more informed today.👇

Are you looking to grow your business? Here is how I can help:

📢 Promote your startup to 2,000+ VCs including investors from a16z, YC, Techstars, Rarebreed, Sequoia and more.

📱 Book a Strategy Call to get 1:1 feedback on your pitch, pitch deck and/or fundraising strategy. (If you need general startup advice, then reply to this email, and I’ll let you know if/how I can help.)

📺 Access FundraiseOS, the ultimate fundraising course with video lessons and practical worksheets helping with everything from deciding how much to raise to understanding a term sheet.

💸 Promote your product or service to 100,000+ entrepreneurs.

🌐 Connect with me on LinkedIn or X (formerly Twitter) to get access to new content about startups, fundraising, venture capital and more every day.

Onwards and Upwards,

Dealflow ExpressDaily Dealflow for Venture Capitalists
EmergeDaily business brief keeping leading executives on top of the biggest stories, trends and news.