Bad Advice: Use a Memo, not a Pitch Deck

Hey Persuaders!

If anyone wants to advertise in my newsletters, reply to this email. I’ll be offering discounted rates for the next week to all subscribers.

Use a Memo, not a Pitch Deck
Read time 0.6 minutes.

Today I want to start a short series where the next few newsletters, I will be going over some of the pitching advice that has been shared with me recently (mostly from subscribers uncertain about the advice they see online).

This is horrible advice. After reading this, I reached out to a few VC friends, who all said they love when founders do this because it saves them a lot of time.

Translation: They take fewer meetings with founders who do this.

 

Ready to put compliance on autopilot and get back to building world-class products? Vanta’s Compliance for Early Stage Startups pairs growing companies with one of our trusted partners to help you get audit-ready.

Why?

A pitch deck gives them a teaser and lets you come in and close the deal in person. By giving them a 5+ page memo with every single possible argument you have for them to invest, they can easily make a decision without ever needing to ask you a question, take a meeting or interact with you.

Always use a Teaser or Attention deck to get a meeting and (if you need visual aids) a Pitch Deck while talking. Then if you want to use a memo once the firm is interested, you can (and it can help then), but use a memo from the start.

Do you use memos when fundraising?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Do you want a chance to be featured across my newsletter network, reaching over 5,000 investors and 90,000 subscribers for free?

Tweet @LawyerLiam with a review of this newsletter or, better yet, share how you are implementing what I share to benefit your business!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. Are you ready to take the next step in raising venture capital for your company? If so, you can book a 1:1 strategy call with me to help get you going in the right direction!

P.P.S If you aren’t already, follow me on Twitter, where I share tips and tricks for fundraising daily.