How To Beat Bigger Competitors

Hey Persuaders!

How To Beat Bigger Competitors
Read time 0.9 minutes.

A few weeks ago, I talked about how you can use an emotional story to convey how you have the potential to beat bigger competitors like Apple, Microsoft, Google, etc., if they compete with you. Today I want to talk about how to fully answer that question and get investors over that mental hurdle.

So recently, I had to live out this problem. About 1-2 weeks ago, another pitching coach who has been doing this for a while longer with 10x the audience I do, blocked me on all social media, copied my brand new website, launched a free resource hub (weeks after I did) and copied most of my branding and marketing including setting the exact same fundraising goal I had. I had a more prominent market incumbent decide to take me out.

Back to you and your investors; there are two elements to a direct response to that question:

  1. Don’t try to argue that you will 100% beat them. Instead, convince investors that there is a “chance” you can win and get wondering, “What are the odds they can do this?”

  2. Now that you are no longer thinking in absolutes convince them that you, your team, and your company are the right people to bet on. Get those odds to continue rising in their head.

The Information is where you go to get the most important news about technology and business first. It’s what leaders read to stay one step ahead and to gain market-moving insight into what’s next, of consequence and least understood—before everyone else does.

When I started getting attacked, I had to think, what are the odds that I can win? I’ve been having so much success this year, but that’s easy to do when you aren’t in the spotlight, with no real competitors; now the pressure was on.

I know its a game of odds, so I thought:

  1. I have accurate science-backed content, and competitors mostly have a bunch of BS that I regularly debunk and most VCs debunk.

  2. I have a loyal following (you), and despite having a 10x smaller audience, I get more engagements on Twitter, views on Youtube, etc.

  3. I am not the type to lose, and I particularly don’t lose to conmen. If I feel someone is acting immorally, it motivates me to work harder.

I convinced myself that I was a good bet. And this is what you need to do.

Getting investors to view this as a bet is easy; ask, “What if we win?” that will change the investor’s perspective, then it’s all about explaining everything you have going for you. Why you can outcompete the bigger guys and what advantages you have to counter their marketing, money, influence, etc.

So next time you get this question, turn it into a game of odds, not absolutes, then start laying on the information about why you are a good bet. You don’t need to convince them that you WILL win, just that you have a good chance, you are the right bet, and if you do, they will own the next big tech company.

Do you want me to notify you when I release my course?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

==> THIS will erase your pain (better than Ibuprofen). You don't need to just alleviate your pain- you need to fight INFLAMMATION. That’s why researchers are saying this one natural food is outperforming Ibuprofen, Advil, and Tylenol...

Do you want a chance to be featured across my newsletter network, reaching over 5,000 investors and 90,000 subscribers for free?

Tweet @LawyerLiam with a review of this newsletter or, better yet, share how you are implementing what I share to benefit your business!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. Are you ready to take the next step in raising venture capital for your company? If so, you can book a 1:1 strategy call with me to help get you going in the right direction!

PPS If you aren’t already, follow me on Twitter, where I share tips and tricks for fundraising daily.