Pitching Halloween

Hey Persuaders!

In the spirit of Halloween, I wanted to show you all how to build a persuasive pitch deck for just about anything.

Obviously, the idea of raising money for a holiday is silly but the way that I can find perspective from which to turn this into something extremely serious, emotional and investable will demonstrate to you why you NEED to learn how to pitch properly.

Slide 1: Introduction

Given how broad the topic was, I used my sentence under the title to clearly explain the aim of the deck so that the reader knows how to interpret the information.

Demo BILL Spend & Expense and get a $100 Starbucks gift card.

It only takes 20 minutes to see how BILL’s business credit + spend management solution can help you (i) Automate expense reports, (ii) Control budgets by team, department, or project, (iii) Gain real-time insight into company spending.

Demo now for your $100 gift card.

Slide 2: Problem

Immediately, I use a statistic to show that this is a serious matter. What I’m pitching isn’t just some fun holiday. It’s something that is a matter of life and death.

Slide 3: Problem

Again, I’m continuing to explain the problem. I know the idea of pitching Halloween seems absurd, so as quickly as possible, I want to establish that there is a real serious issue here and one that you need to care about.

Slide 4: Problem

I am continuing to animate the problem.

Slide 5: Problem

Now, on the 4th problem slide, I clearly state the problem I’ve been animating and accounting for those who might not believe in mental health issues or care about them; I’m showing the real impact this is having on the country’s ability to work.

Slide 6: Solution

After creating a massive villain that you want to be emotionally invested in defeating, I present a solution.

Slide 7: Product

Note we are on Slide 8, and now I’m getting to the Product. Like the Dropbox/AirBnb decks we looked at before, but unlike many decks you guys send me, this isn’t a top 5 slide and almost never should be.

A key here is that I don’t list features. Instead, I talk about:

  • Who it’s for: Americans

  • What is their problem: burnout and stress

  • What is the product: a holiday

  • What is the benefit: escape from reality

  • Who are my competitors: Christmas and Thanksgiving

  • How am I different: No in-laws

Slide 8: Traction

This is how I’m validating my market and ensuring that my story is active. I’m not pitching that I need money to get started; this is already something people love and are using, and we need money to grow it.

Slide 9: Team

Focusing on the things that show that we can run a successful holiday. Things like experience with Halloween and past financial successes. Don’t just list your accomplishments here; list things that show you can execute.

Slide 10: Offer

This wording is exactly what you should use. It has a clear milestone and timeline in exchange for the funding.

Slide 11: Closing Slide

A reminder of the emotional argument that we’ve been making and why they need to invest.

Never say Thank You! This implies that you owe them something just for listening to your pitch. It will destroy your social status.

Do you want to see more fun/fake pitch decks like this?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Are you looking to grow your business? Here is how I can help:

📢 Promote your startup to 2,000+ VCs including investors from a16z, YC, Techstars, Rarebreed, Sequoia and more.

📱 Book a Strategy Call to get 1:1 feedback on your pitch, pitch deck and/or fundraising strategy. (If you need general startup advice, then reply to this email, and I’ll let you know if/how I can help.)

📺 Access FundraiseOS, the ultimate fundraising course with video lessons and practical worksheets helping with everything from deciding how much to raise to understanding a term sheet.

💸 Promote your product or service to 100,000+ entrepreneurs.

🌐 Connect with me on LinkedIn or X (formerly Twitter) to get access to new content about startups, fundraising, venture capital and more every day.

Your continued support means a tremendous amount to me. Each person subscribed to this newsletter is trying to improve themselves and their business every day. Always remember that the best goal in life is to make sure every day is better than the last. Keep putting in the work, find the right mentors/advisors, and you will see the results!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. It would greatly help me if you could share the newsletter with more founders to help grow our community!

Dealflow ExpressDaily Dealflow for Venture Capitalists