Sam Altman’s Mindset For Pitching

Hey Persuaders!

Welcome back!

This has been a great week:

  • A client got a term sheet

  • Two more clients have perfected their pitches this week (time to raise!)

  • My course continues to sell like crazy!

To say thank you: For the ~200 of you who purchased my course already, if you email me a screenshot of your receipt, I’ll give you a link for 50% off a 1-hour strategy call anytime before the end of 2023.

AND I’ll extend this offer to the next 100 people who buy the course. That’s a savings of $249.50! This is costing me $24,950.00, so take advantage now before it’s too late!

Aside from discounts, I also want to genuinely say thanks. Many of you take the time to email/DM me to say how much the course/newsletter/consulting helps you. Those messages mean a lot, and to see how many of you purchased the course as soon as it was released shows how much you believe in me! Thank you.

Sam Altman’s Mindset For Pitching
Read time 2.0 minutes.

Sam Altman is the CEO of OpenAI and former President of Y-Combinator.

Recently, I’ve been reading his blog, which has some great insights for founders. I’ve shared many on Twitter but I wanted to save one specifically for my newsletter subscribers.

Give someone enough rope, and they will hang themselves.

This is a quote I feature when coaching clients. It’s a mindset that I believe everyone should adopt when preparing their pitch, pitch deck or attention deck.

Sandhill Markets is the “Robinhood for Pre-IPO Startups”, letting investors get into private deals like Stripe, Databricks, Discord, Anduril, Neuralink and OpenAI. Investing in these blue-chip startups typically involves $100k+ minimums and up to 20% in fees or carry. Sandhill lets you invest as little as $5k with 0% fees.

Most founders have the misconception that they need to shove as much information as possible into an investor’s face because each piece of information stacks up till you pass a bar where they will decide to take a meeting.

The truth is that the opposite could not be more accurate. One thing that was interesting when reading Sam’s blogs is his focus on simplicity; he believes that if the core of your company is robust additional information isn’t needed. That additional information is only shared when covering a flaw in the company’s core.

I agree.

Your problem, solution, traction, team and market should be enough to get you a meeting. You shouldn’t need more than that. And each of those should be explained as simply as possible.

I get worried when I see 50+ page pitch decks (more common than you think). If you can’t explain the company in 8-12 slides, how will you get customers to buy in 1-2 clicks?

Overview

I want you to have this mindset in everything you do in life. The easiest way to tell if someone is lying is if they go into too much detail about the lie. We all know this: when you are sick, you call into work and say you are sick. When you fake calling in sick, you explain everything wrong with you and hope they buy it. In life, if you have the goods, then don’t sugarcoat them; let them speak for themselves. This philosophy applies to how you pitch but also how you live your life. Don’t cover a rotten core with pretty things. Focus on building a solid core; the rest is noise.

Can you pitch your company in under 30 seconds?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Do you want a chance to be featured across my newsletter network, reaching over 5,000 investors and 90,000 subscribers for free?

Tweet @LawyerLiam with a review of this newsletter or, better yet, share how you are implementing what I share to benefit your business!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. Are you ready to take the next step in raising venture capital for your company? If so, you can book a 1:1 strategy call with me to help get you going in the right direction!

PPS If you are not already, follow me on Twitter, where I share tips and tricks for fundraising daily.