Timing Information Drops

Hey Persuaders!

Timing Information Drops
Read time 1.8 minutes.

Recently, I’ve been working with some investors to help their portfolio companies raise. This has involved listening to many of their existing pitches the past week to see where they are at so I can chart the path forward.

Today, I want to share one mistake that I’m seeing a lot that I feel stems from a misinterpretation of the advice you’ll hear from my people, including me.

The Misinterpretation

I will always advise founders to tell the truth. You should never lie to an investor.

What I’m seeing, however, is that most founders take this as needing to start their pitch by laying out all the negatives first. This is a horrible mistake.

Examples of negatives I’ve seen founders discuss in the first 5 minutes of their pitch include:

  • Lack of equity ownership (founder had 17% at the seed stage and knew this would scare investors)

  • Unscalable sales strategy

  • High-cost sales strategy

  • Lack of technical expertise

  • Lack of sales

If I’m telling you to be honest about these things but not to talk about them early in your pitch, then when should you talk about them?

I’ve been so busy I haven’t been promoting my course or consulting!

It’s time for a quick reminder. Make sure you get my course. Everyone who buys it says it’s extremely valuable to their business.

If you want some 1:1 consulting, book a strategy call today!

The Strategy

Always make sure that you hook investors before you share any negatives about your company.

Ideally, the problem + solution is enough of a hook to get them interested, but in most cases, at a minimum, you’ll need to show the problem, solution, traction and market. This will allow you to showcase the high potential and minimize some risk.

Once you start strong, there are two times that are best for sharing negative information:

  1. At the start of addressing a topic. If you have a sales strategy but it isn’t scalable, start by talking about how it isn’t scalable but then counter with the positive point that it is leading to many sales.

  2. At the end of the pitch. Right before they ask question so after you are clearly done, and the room has the half moment where everyone is wondering what will come next, you can say, “Before we get to questions, there are a few things that have come up in past meetings I want to address.” Simple and clear.

Do you proactively address negatives about your company?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Ensure compliance for your startup.

Do you have questions about SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, or other security and privacy frameworks? Wondering if, when, and how to achieve compliance (as painlessly as possible)?

Do you want a chance to be featured across my newsletter network, reaching over 5,000 investors and 90,000 subscribers for free?

Tweet @LawyerLiam with a review of this newsletter or, better yet, share how you are implementing what I share to benefit your business!

Onwards and Upwards,

P.S. Are you ready to take the next step in raising venture capital for your company? If so, you can book a 1:1 strategy call with me to help get you going in the right direction!

PPS If you are not already, follow me on Twitter, where I share tips and tricks for fundraising daily.

Dealflow ExpressDaily Dealflow for Venture Capitalists

Ti